About the Board

The American Board of Forensic Document Examiners (ABFDE) was established in 1977. The Board’s objectives are two-fold: to establish, maintain and enhance standards of qualification for those who practice forensic document examination, and to certify applicants who comply with ABFDE requirements for this expertise. In doing so, the Board aims to safeguard the public interest by ensuring that anyone who claims to be a specialist in forensic document examination does, in fact, possess the necessary skills and qualifications.

The ABFDE is sponsored by the Canadian Society of Forensic Science, the American Society of Questioned Document Examiners, the Southwestern Association of Forensic Document Examiners, and the Southeastern Association of Forensic Document Examiners, and is recognized by the American Academy of Forensic Sciences, the International Association for Identification, the Midwestern Association of Forensic Scientists, and the Mid-Atlantic Association of Forensic Scientists.


PresidentTed Burkes
Vice PresidentMeg O'Brien
SecretaryMiriam Angel
TreasurerKatherine Schoenberger

Additional Directors

Committee Chairs

TestingLisa Hanson
CredentialsMiriam Angel
RecertificationMiriam Angel
Test Preparation & ValidationLisa Hanson
FSABMeg O'Brien
Public RelationsTom Riley
Continuing EducationSandra Raudabaugh
HistorianLarry Olson
Rules and ProceduresFarrell Shiver
NominationsLisa Hanson
ABFDE SyllabusGary Licht

Past ABFDE Presidents

Lloyd J. Josey, Jr.2016-2017
Rosalind Spencer2015-2016
Kirsten A. Singer2010-2015
David Oleksow2009-2010
Joyce Lauterbach2006-2009
Paige Doherty2005-2006
Brian Carney2003-2005
Jan Seaman Kelly2001-2003
A. Frank Hicks2000-2001
Howard C. Rile, Jr.1997-1999
Mary Wenderoth Kelly1995-1997
Dan C. Purdy1993-1995
Janet F. Masson1991-1993
William J. Flynn1989-1991
Thomas J. Donovan1987-1989
Robert G. Lockard1985-1987
James H. Kelly1983-1985
James J. Horan1981-1983
John J. Harris1979-1981